Governing Body

Roles of the Governing Board

Every school in England has a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the school's strategic decisions. A key role is to act as a 'critical friend': to support, challenge, ask questions and represent the school community.

The governors are involved in discussions and decisions concerning staffing, curriculum, finance and the school building and grounds.

As a Voluntary Aided CE school, Ivegill Governing Body consists of:

  • five foundation governors
  • two parent governors
  • one appointed local authority governor
  • one staff governor

The standard term of office for a governor is four years; however many governors are re-elected as they still have a lot to offer school in terms of time, experience and expertise. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The Chair of Governors is Mr Allister Green, who can be contacted directly via email at:

Whilst the Headteacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school the governors are responsible for strategic decisions including:

  • setting the vision, ethos and strategic direction for the school
  • holding personnel within school to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and ensuring money is well spent.

The Governing Body of Ivegill CE School is currently ...

  • Mr Allister Green (Chair of Governing Body)
  • Ms Sue Stainton (Headteacher, Ivegill CE Primary)
  • Dr Jane Rickerby (Local Authority Governor)
  • Mrs Joanne Anderson (Staff Governor)
  • Ms Jillian Harrison-Longworth (Pupil Premium/ Child Protection/SEND)
  • Mrs Jeanette Bainbridge (Parent Governor)
  • Mr Richard Messenger (Parent Governor)
  • Mr Peter Moran (Foundation Governor)
  • Mrs Alison Hudson (Foundation Governor)
  • Mrs Karen Shepherd (Clerk to the Governors)